WOW!

March 21, 2011 – March 21, 2015

That’s not emblematic of a short life, that is emblematic of a wonderful life.

A different life. A blessed life A lucky life.  A life worth living.

It’s emblematic of a 4 years sober life.

Who knew?

Not me when I made a conscious decision to not pick up a drink one Monday night 4 years ago. How the hell did that translate into 4 years of not having a cocktail since that date?

Not easy, not hard. Not scary, not safe. Not beautiful, not hideous….no huge swings on either end. Well, at least looking back. There were swings early on, but I could always find some reason to put off that inevitable (in my mind) drink. Fairly recently I went through a rough-ish patch, where all the  good reasons I had for stopping drinking seemed a little faded, you know?  I wasn’t ever close to throwing up my hands, but my head was back in that space of “oh, my drinking was really just situational, I could probably…”. Yeah, right! Anyway, it passed.

It ALWAYS passes. ALWAYS. I promise you. Sometimes in an hour, sometimes 5 minutes, sometimes a few days, sometimes a flash, a thought. It’s a believing game, a faith game.  Faith that you can wait it out, that there is a power greater than you, even if it’s just your willingness to stop drinking, that can help you not grab that bottle of whatever your poison might be.

It’s a process and its a miracle. And it’s most important step is surrender.

I am so grateful for everyone in my life that has held me up, helped me and offered me chances to help them. I rely on my IRL friends, but, oh how I love my online friends! I started online, sitting in my office, drinking Jack I had hidden in a drawer from…who? LOL!  No one.  I stumbled upon the BFB in it’s first iteration on yahoo and the person who took me to my first meeting was someone I met online  there and is still a dear friend today. I spent hours online on the BFB, and while I don’t go there anymore, there is a select group of  friends I made there that I talk to probably every day, and most of whom I have met even though we live all over the country. I appreciate all of you, the bloggers I follow and who follow me. This is an awesome no -holds- barred, tell it like it is community and it helps me so much.

According to Anne Lamott the three essential prayers are Help, Thanks and Wow! You all have helped me and allowed me to help you and thankyouthankyouthankyou for that!

4 years sober.

WOW!

 

28 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Wow! 4 years, that is fantastic. I want to thank you for all the help you have given me over the past year. I read about your life, and I am in awe of how you have grown. You are an amazing, strong, wise, sober woman. I am glad that I found you when I turned to this corner of the internet to help me get sober.
    Rock on sober lady!

  2. Fantastic and inspirational!!!! Congratulations! 🙂

  3. Happy 4 Years! Wonderful 😀

  4. Congratulations, my friend!!
    Help – Thanks – WOW
    That totally needs to be white block letters on a black board sign. LOVE this!
    Love YOU! xo

  5. Thinking of you and smiling.
    Congratulations my friend.
    Thank you for all you give.
    I’m glad our lives are unexplainably woven together. Xoxo

  6. Beautiful. And inspiring.
    Thank you for sharing! It’s what makes this blogging world work!

    Anne

  7. Happy 4 years!!!!! Such an inspiration you are!

    Sherry

  8. WOW indeed! a wonderful post to read. I can never hear too many times that those thoughts do pass… a huge well done on your four years! xx

    • Thank you Prim….

      and yes, god, i need to be told, ad remember that the thoughts pass, just like the feelings hat usually lead to the thoughts…
      sometimes you just gotta stick it out and breathe….

  9. Thanks so much, this is beautiful! Congratulations!! And thanks for the reminder that it always passes and that 4 years is not only possible but wonderful.

  10. Congratulations!!! It is a joy to read your words of gratitude. 🙂

  11. Mish, congratulations! How wonderful to be able to appreciate the difference in your life then and now. It’s inspiring, and I appreciate you sharing your journey. I love this:

    “It’s a process and its a miracle. And it’s most important step is surrender.”

  12. Yay! I’m really enjoying the turns you’re taking this year. You inspire me! Thank you for writing, for being terrific, and for staying sober. FOUR!!!!!

    • AMY!

      I am just catching up on all your posts and keep writing responses that are disappearing in the ether…..
      ACK!!!
      it asks me to prove i’m not a robot and then…post disappears.
      And i just got 4 posts in my inbox all at the same time….
      something going on over there at blogger, making me crazy.
      Just for now..I am sending big hugs and support….know i am reading and really loving (and disliking) all the stuff you’re speaking about these days…those truths.
      I will be sending all good thoughts on the 22nd….
      now see what is going on with your blog!!
      xo

  13. Congrats on 4 years! I am so happy for you. Thank you for all your support and kind words, and being such an inspiration to so many. Sendig many hugs and of course 🎂🎂🎂!

Leave a Reply

