Be Love

What you are in love with,
what seizes your imagination
will affect everything.
It will decide
what will get you out of bed in the mornings,
what you will do with your evenings,
how you spend your weekends,
what you read,
who you know,
what breaks your heart,
and what amazes you with joy and gratitude.
Fall in love,
stay in love,
and it will decide everything.”
Pedro Arr

 

I’m not sure I have anything to add to this poem.

It’s all there, the truth of it.

I guess I could add that, of course, the first step is deciding what you are in love with. You have to be in love with something before the love can decide the rest of it, yes?

And I can also add the obvious, that we fall in and out of love all the time, so one day it might be a person, another day a political movement, another day yoga…or maybe all three, and more, yes?

Of course, I can add that we are love. That we can be and reflect love in the world ourselves, raising the vibration of all around us to be and reflect that same love.

When you fall in love one thing leads to another.

Especially when what you fall in love with is life.

 

“Tell me, what else should I have done?
Doesn’t everything die at last, and too soon?
Tell me, what is it you plan to do
with your one wild and precious life?”

Mary Oliver

7 Comments

Add yours →

  1. “We are love”, It’s so true!

  2. “One wild and precious life”. Beautiful. X

  3. I do believe love is the answer! :). Smacked me upside the head six years into my sober journey.

    I never found love in the bottom of every bottle. I didn’t even know that’s what I was looking for.

    But then again, I did not love myself, so how could I truly love anything else! I couldn’t!
    That powerful voice that demanded perfection from everything and everyone, especially those closest to me. Gawd!

    When I no longer hoped for a better past, it was then that I forgave myself completely. And then I began to love myself. The inner voice of self-hate became a mute!

    The floodgates opened, depression and anxiety vanished. Letting go has become more natural. The illusions of control and unrealistic expectations were no longer.

    I love my sober life!

  4. Just what I needed today. Thank you, Michele. xo

  5. The first quote is actually from the Jesuit priest Pedro Arrupe.

    • arrrghhhh!
      i hate when that happens!
      Thank you for the proper attribution. I had not heard of him before seeing this and writing about it, and s hadn’t checked the source.
      Now I will be able to find more of him!

Leave a Reply

