Let’s pick number 7!

B1tt7d8IgAAv12y.jpg-large

 

I feel a little odd saying I am proud of this, but I am. I am proud of being useful; I was useless for so long. And one way in which I am useful is in my work facilitating grief groups. I have been doing this now for 3 1/2 years, and it has never failed to inspire me and fill me with a sense of purpose and meaning.

See, when we do things like this we reap the rewards. Yes, hopefully we help those we are setting out to help…. well, we do. We see the change. And I can attest to my own experience in a group, how much it helped me, how much the experience helped to normalize my feelings when I might as well have been insane.  But I get so much from it too. I get a chance to be a “helper”, as Mr. Rogers would say. I get a chance to be of service to a population that I understand, much like I can be of service to other alcoholics. I GET it. I’ve been there. I KNOW.

I have the ability to help, to encourage, to normalize, to listen, to give hope.

This is a picture of the room that my group of parents grieving the death of their child sat in tonight. Where they cried. And laughed. And connected. My co-facilitator and I get to be present and witness everything that happens in that room, and so much does, the world shifts.

I am proud of that.

 

IMG_3108

 

 

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. You should be proud. It takes a special type of person to be able to “be” in those moments for others. I know it is probably difficult at times, if not mostly, but you are an amazing soul for being there.

  2. That is very very significant work you do. notapunkrocker is right- it takes a very special kind of could to do that kind of work, it is not for the faint of heart. And it is so needed and so valuable. The world needs more people like you 🙂

Leave a Reply

