visioning the future (part deux) Life

So,

when last we left our heroine…

god, I think that just made me sound REALLY old!

Anyway, the other board I wrote about was my MOVING board, but the same night I actually made two boards.

This one is on a large cork-board with shiny new stick pins, bought especially for the occasion.

I placed the moving board on my mantle. Right next to the picture I bought in Sedona for my new place. I thought that was the perfect place for it. I see it every time I pass through the hall to the bathroom or bedroom, and I notice it, even if I don’t stop and read it. Noticing is good, that works magic too. that builds visions.

The LIFE board is on the wall leading from my kitchen to my office (4th bedroom, all you house-hunters out there!), and it’s a great place for it, relatively front and center but not attracting a lot of attention, except mine, as it should be.

Once again the attraction was to words..just spilling off magazine pages and onto my board. They just really resonate for me, and trying to find pictures of concepts is not possible. LIFE is too weird for pictures. I mean, I know this is supposed to be a “visioning” board, but I guess I vision in words and quotes and concepts. And that is what the board is full of.

 

In the center of the board I placed a picture and story by Brian Andreas, a friend and wonderful storyteller. It says “In my dream the angel shrugged and said if we fail this time it will be a failure of imagination and then she placed the world gently in the palm of my hand”. I LOVE this story! It is big and free-floating and as full of hope and possibility as my imagination can be, as my imagination in the coming times NEEDS to be. It was perfect for the centerpiece of my board.

As I went through all the words that I had cut out, that were resonating, I saw patterns emerge and got the idea to make different areas on the board. So the upper left corner is the “travel” section…with words like escape, business class, adventures, Italy, Paris, the scenic route. The lower right hand corner became all about health. It has words like whole living, workouts, age gracefully, sleep, it’s your body, pass on processed foods. The Lower left hand became the sex area…and that means the idea of attracting someone into my life. Words like unexpected pairing, sex Rx, two peas in a pod, the love connection, comic relief.  The rest of the board is more generic in principle though specific to what I want in my life :dream, imagine, goddess, ways to reinvent your life,the importance of being sassy (yes, I said sassy!), go to the places that scare you, freedom, good works, friends….I could write them all,  but I think you get the drift.

I feel it is a complete success. Perhaps I could have added more, but then…..

Here’s a story: While cutting I found the word MORE and was so excited and cut it out, placing it right on the top of my pile. But as I started to assemble the board and kept trying to place it , I don’t know…there just seemed no good place for it. The board was taking shape and there was no need for the word more…I didn’t want more. More is an abstract concept anyway, or, actually it’s a way to literal concept for me. I was choosing what I wanted and I didn’t want more of any of it, I  just wanted IT….the travel, the health, the friends and love, the peace. If I have all of that I don’t need more. More is too much, more is a moot point. I want ENOUGH (right last year’s word?).

Anyway. Here’s the board. I know it’s hard to read it all. That’s fine, it’s for me, not you. I gave you a glimpse and now you get to go make your own. It was fun and uplifting, positive and healing, surprising and familiar. I encourage you to give it a go. It can be about something as big as life or as specific as moving; I’m sure you have something that you need some clarity of vision about.

I recommend having a few friends over to do it together, always makes everything a better experience when you mix pals in. And it’s fun to fight over words, and even more fun when, while you are searching, you see a word that you just know will be perfect for your friend. Alone is good though too, because this is, ultimately,  a deeply contemplative act.

A visioning of YOUR future, the future you dream, the future you hope for, the future you want to attract.

 

securedownload

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. I have a Brian Andreas wooden story person I got myself for my 30th birthday. It hangs right above my desk. “I have too much to lose, she said, if I cross that line. Like what? I said. She could not think of anything that day so she said she’d get back to me. Since then I’ve been thinking what I would lose if I crossed my line and I haven’t come up with anything either. There’s always another line somewhere.”

    I really like this idea of vision boards. Thanks for sharing yours. 🙂

  2. I love that story too Amy, Brian’s work is amazing/
    And I love your blog..cant figure out how to subscribe, but love it.
    The vision boards were one of those “oh yeah right” things to me”, like so much of my life.
    I’m glad I did it….now we see, right?

    Fuck Yeah!
    (quoting a favrite blogger)

  3. I love
    More
    Not being placed & your use of “enough.”
    The power of words.
    “More” feels like pressure to me. Like there’s never enough. “More” is never satiated, happy.

    I love you.

Leave a Reply

