visioning the future (part one) HOME

Last night two friends of mine came  to my house and we made “vision boards”.

I had heard of the idea, but, you know…it’s work, whatever, really?…

I was inspired, however, by an acquaintance who needed to move BADLY from where she lived. And she wrote out a plan, exactly what she needed/wanted in a new place. It was very detailed and specific and she made a board with words and pictures and she actually got the new place to live, almost to a tee, WAY close enough. She was talking about this after yoga, and yoga makes me all into “manifesting my destiny’ and spirituality and “I CAN do this hard thing”…airy-fairy as my dad used to call it. I think I would be amazing if I was always “right after yoga”. Anyway….

So we just did it. I said Monday night, they said yes. We had boards and stickers and scissors and glue and thoughts and dreams running around in our heads like little sugar-plums and midgets as we headed for the land of the envision-tron.

My plan was to do 2 boards, one for moving and what a new residence might look like. And one for life….just what could THAT look like. I thought there would be pictures and stuff, but I found myself only drawn to words, or sayings. I think for the “home” board it was necessary, because I really am still trying to wrap my head around the whole idea of selling and moving, and a new place is very much in the though process phase.  But while I wasn’t very specific, there was a theme that unfolded on my board,just on it’s own, and it is best expressed in a quote I found and put in the center of the board “Your home should reflect who you are, how you live, and what you love”. there are lots of words on the board…imagine, make space, organize, simple, small spaces, on a budget (uh, yes!), renew with color,style, beautiful, hideaway, breathing space, peace, a major life change….Well, on and on. It was fun to do, and my next idea is to use the back of the board when I start getting specific, always keeping in mind the dreams and aspirations on the front of the board. (Though I do believe my first specific will be “duvet”….on my new bed, changeable. Oh, and maybe this cool lamp I saw….it’s gonna be fun!)

I LIKED doing it, battle won, feeling good. And I found another quote, by one of my very favorite poets, Mary Oliver that I also glue sticked on there. This quote reflects an even further move, a scheme, an inkling…”Why should I not sit, every morning of my life, on the hillside, looking into the shining world”.  WHERE would that be?  Why not indeed?

securedownload-1

8 Comments

Add yours →

  1. This is great. This is just great. Jeez.
    This is GREAT
    xoxoxoxo

  2. LOVE this post. LOL’d at the part about midgets. Totally got the line about always being amazing if you were always right after yoga. I’ve heard of vision boards before but have the same attitude you described in the opening. You did a great job of describing how they work and what you can get out of it. I’m glad you shared your experience and I’m happy you did it for yourself.

  3. “it’s work, whatever, really?” lol

  4. I think I would be amazing if I was always “right after yoga”.

    I do too. New goal? 😉

  5. Love this, my friend.

    I am crazy about that Mary Oliver quote: “Why should I not sit, every morning of my life, on the hillside, looking into the shining world”.

    Yes! Why not indeed.

  6. What a great idea, the vision boards! We really need to move out of the house we’ve lived in for 28 years, but every time I think about it, I get so overwhelmed I don’t know where to start. Maybe this could give me a way in.

    I love that line of Mary Oliver’s too. Have you read the piece it’s from? The last line makes my heart sing.
    ~~~

    What I Have Learned So Far

    Meditation is old and honorable, so why should I
    not sit, every morning of my life, on the hillside,
    looking into the shining world? Because, properly
    attended to, delight, as well as havoc, is suggestion.
    Can one be passionate about the just, the
    ideal, the sublime, and the holy, and yet commit
    to no labor in its cause? I don’t think so.

    All summations have a beginning, all effect has a
    story, all kindness begins with the sown seed.
    Thought buds toward radiance. The gospel of
    light is the crossroads of— indolence, or action.

    Be ignited, or be gone.

    • Be ignited or be gone…
      jeez!

      I do love her and her poetry sings to me. I was so surprised to see that little part of the poem in a box that I could cut out and place on my board….

      I loved making the boards. NOT my cup of tea, and yet, it was. I made another one and will get that post up soon. I do get the overwhelm, I am SO overwhelmed by the project, but am just putting one foot in front of the other and moving ahead. I have lived here 21 years and there is a lot of syuff. But I could put all the stuff in a garbage can and not think about it. It’s the emotional stuff that I fight, the knowing that it is the right thing to do and yet holding on well past the time it is healthy for me.

      Make a board, start throwing out…baby steps!

Leave a Reply

