I have this friend

I will give her the code name Cocoon. Coco for short.

She is an awesome, sober woman. She is a loving wife and a relatively new mom.

She does some work a abookkeeper, but not really…she’s a writer. And a speaker. And a comedian, and an activist.

She is a good friend who knows and understands her limits, who takes good care of herself and others. Not only does she walk through life’s shit, she helps others walk through it.

Coco has not had an easy life, but it’s good now. Except for one thing, one thing that keeps trying to drag her down and which she keeps fighting like her life depends on it, because it does.

Coco has bi-polar disorder. Shes’ a sober woman who regularly has to face the judgement of others for taking the medicines that will keep her sane, that will protect her and her family, and she does it with grace and style and attitude (I love her attitude).

I have never really met anyone like her before, and I consider it a great honor to know her, to be part of her life, to learn from and about her. She is the easiest person that I have ever know to have absolutely no judgement about, because god knows I can be judgy as they come. But Coco doesn’t warrant it. She is authentically herself amidst turmoil and bullshit and life and that cannot be judged, at least in my estimation…she just is. She is a beautiful force of nature that I am sure can hurt as deeply as she helps, because isn’t that what we all do? I truly believe that she only wants to help though, and that when she hurts someone it is because they can’t handle her truth..which is fine, which is,again life.

I am moved to write this because I know she is hurting right now. And I want her to know how I feel, on this, her birthday. This is a beautiful day on which a beautiful soul was born into this world. A soul full of hope unlike any other person I have ever met. A person who I admire and respect and am honored to be there and help her hold that hope, that things will be better, they will.

You are awesome you beautiful cocoon. Damn, what a butterfly you will be, you are!

3 Comments

Add yours →

  1. Oh Michele, how I do love you so so much. Wow. This is so sweet and means so much to me. Cocoon forever. Cocoon a day at a time. Cocoon going nighty night πŸ™‚

  2. Beautiful Michele. You reminded me of the Anais Nin quote: β€œAnd the day came when the risk to remain tight in a bud was more painful than the risk it took to blossom.”

    And of course this beautiful song “She’s a Butterfly” by Martina McBride.

    She’s a butterfly, pretty as the crimson sky
    Nothing’s ever gonna bring her down
    And everywhere she goes
    Everybody knows she’s so glad to be alive
    She’s a butterfly

    Like the purest light in a darkened world
    So much hope inside such a lovely girl
    You should see her fly, it’s almost magical
    It makes you wanna cry, she’s so beautiful

  3. What a beautiful post, and how lucky she is to have a friend like you!

Leave a Reply

