Flagstaff…

When last I wrote…

before the debates. That debate decided my undecided friends, and not in a way I would have liked.  ‘Nuff said.

On Wednesday that’s about all we did, watch the debates and hang. It was good to not be in  a car for hours.

Thursday we headed for Santa Fe via back roads. We went into a very cool little town called Madrid (they pronounce it MAD-rid) and shopped in the stores. I actually bought myself a ring, a souvenier from my trip. It really pretty and very different. The drive was amazing…like I said before, not a desert girl but the scenery has been beautiful. Then we went to a reception for a designer friend of Nancy’s in Santa Fe and drove back, home in time for dinner. The big balloon festival is taking place this weekend, and when I got up yesterday there were balloons everywhere! I am so grateful I saw them because this morning (Saturday)was supposed to be the “mass ascension” (sounds religious, don’t it?) and the winds were too much so it didn’t happen. And then I hit the road for Flagstaff AZ.

This is a great little town. Has an historic square with a lot of galleries and shops around it. I went in for dinner and a meeting last night and found out that there was an Art Crawl…so cool the way I just lucked into that. I find myself looking at these places with new eyes….could I live there? Would there be enough for me to do, could I work, could I afford it? Flagstaff is very cool and has a big University and what seems like a pretty hopping music scene. Younger than Albuquerque, which I like, but I am old…so there’s that. Thinking about where to go is becoming a bit obsessive with me lately, but I think that’s good…moving forward.

The really coolest thing happened yesterday when I got into town. I had been dithering about whether to go to Las Vegas or not and it just did not feel right harshing the serenity like that, so I figured I’d see if I could go back to te Briar Patch Inn in Sedona (I’m leaving Flagstaff tomorrow). I called and they had nothing and I was bummed, but we were talking and suddenly she asked if I’d like to stay in the owner’s Casita? Well, YES! So I have that tomorrow and Monday night, less money than a room would have been but all the amenities, and particularly the chance to end my vacation the way I started,in a soft place. Just get more writing done, relax and prepare to re-enter life again.

I was supposed to use Flagstaff as base for a trek to the Grand Canyon, but woke up with a raging headache and, I have to say, I wasn’t really feeling it anyway. I dithered about that too….and faced with another 175 miles on the road in one day, saying no seemed reasonable. AND..I don’t regret it. I’m sure I’ll be back to this area again, I can go next time.

That’s all I have right now. As this trip comes to a close, I find I am just so happy. Not that it’s ending, I could stay out here forever.

I’m, just happy, content, and grateful that I got to do it at all. The whole trip has been very serendipitous and seeing old friends and having time alone has been a perfect balance. I know when I get home there will be bills and tsuris and just the daily living. But I have had a lot of time to think on this trip, and plan on more the next few days at the Inn. I have a lot to do, and I need to get busy doing it.

But that’s for when I get home, until then…..I am just enjoying being happy and content. It’s  good right now. So good.

Leave a Reply

